Musical Musings (Part III – That’s What I Like)

So here’s the round-out to my previous two posts. To simplify (well, my version of simplify…) I’ve taken the top 100 artists from my Last.fm charts – for the last three months only – and listed them here. There’s just over 100, actually, the last few artists were on equal standing. To be honest, I’m a little surprised at some of the artists/positions, but who am I to argue? Just keep in mind that some who have made an appearance are working their way down, while others are working their way up. Also, because I generally keep my player on shuffle, artists with more albums are likely to appear higher up on the list…

The whole purpose of this exercise is to give a fair representation of my taste in music (the following is about 1/4 of all the artists I have in my library). I began by talking about where it started, took a detour into what I hope to achieve when I talk about music (via talking about what I don’t like) and here’s where I am now – I’m pretty sure they’re all the tools anyone will ever need when deciding whether or not an artist I’m raving about is worth their own time to check out.

I’m not going to add anything to the following – except possibly links to stuff in the future. All you really need to know is – I listen to these:

Tori Amos

Tool

My Brightest Diamond

The Black Heart Procession 

Tricky

The Tea Party 

Christophe Beck

Depeche Mode 

Deftones

Damien Rice

Cat Power

Bon Iver

The Cure

Team Sleep

A Perfect Circle

Scout Niblett

Portishead

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds

Denali

Dave Gahan

Inga Liljeström

Arab Strap

Massive Attack

Niobe

Beth Orton

Sian Alice Group

The Flaming Lips

Ben Harper

John Lee Hooker

Sarah Blasko

Adem

St. Vincent

Shearwater

New Order

Jeff Martin

Muse 

Lightning Dust

Deerhunter

Tindersticks

Beck

Radiohead 

 Glen Hansard & Marketa Irglova

ASHES dIVIDE

Lavender Diamond

The Doors

Angus & Julia Stone

Buffy the Vampire Slayer

Nine Inch Nails

PJ Harvey

Manchester Orchestra

Martina Topley-Bird

Björk

Beth Gibbons & Rustin Man

Nirvana

Beastie Boys

BLACK ERA

Bob Dylan

Piano Magic

Fiona Apple

Rachael Yamagata

植松伸夫 (Nobuo Uematsu)

Black Mountain

Sparklehorse

Puscifer

Scarlett Johansson

Gotye

Neneh Cherry

Faultline

Mazzy Star

Röyksopp

She Wants Revenge

Eels

Goldfrapp

Dawn Landes

Aimee Mann

Spook

This Mortal Coil

Jeff Buckley

DK7

Violent Femmes

Low

Jimi Hendrix

Great Lake Swimmers

Sarah Millyard

Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals

Bat For Lashes

Angie Hart

Ophelia of the Spirits

Nicholas Lens

Lynyrd Skynyrd

Lêndi Vexer

The Readies

Pillars and Tongues

Corrina Repp

B.B. King

My Latest Novel

The Killers

Pete Murray

Sonic Animation

Dirty Vegas

The Frames

Tom Waits

For a complete tour of my library or profile, just click on this link.

S4E

About Satellite for Entropy

My thoughts are fish, all swimming about and prone to scattering swiftly. Some of them are pretty but not all of them are gold. Some have teeth; some travel in gangs and with a single school of thought; some are haphazard loners, darting about the place randomly and to no obvious purpose. But they're all slippery little suckers. Sometimes, I get lucky and find myself with a good grasp on one, long enough to remember what it looks like before releasing it back into the wild. View all posts by Satellite for Entropy

Leave a Reply

