Time Well Spent

Now that all the musical ramblings that were making soft-but-persistent maraca-rattles in my head are out of the way, I get to concentrate on the really important stuff: staying up late, swapping manly stories, and in the morning…I’ll make waffles. Well, two out of three aint bad – I don’t much like waffles. (Pancakes, on the other hand… Big fan). I don’t think my stories are all that manly, either. I’d hope not. But I do like to stay up late and do…stuff.

hmm

 

 
.

The shifty eyes are actually rather apt (least of all because this post is imported from another, very informal blog I have elsewhere, though it’s been somewhat altered). Mostly though, the eyes represent the once upon a time that staying up late had to be done undercover – bed cover, that is, complete with a torch rapidly being drained of power and squinting in the dim light so that I could continue to read Pinquo by Colin Thiele and pretend I was asleep whenever necessary. After a while, Colin Thiele was replaced with Agatha Christie, who was in turn – sadly – replaced by Dolly and teenage romance novels like Sweet Valley High (or magazines ‘borrowed’ from my brother’s bedroom – a veritable treasure trove of information on boys ninjaplot). Occasionally, when all in the house were assuredly asleep, I would creep into the lounge room and spend the rest of the night watching MTV and falling in love with various guitarists, then penning awesome (read: terrible) poetry about all my crushes.

Skip ahead a few years and I strangely find myself an insomniac.

That’s probably a lie. It’s far more likely that I developed a taste for the guilty indulgence of staying up ‘way past my bed time’ and engaging in pursuits that cause my contemporaries to roll their eyes and ‘tsk’ at my reasoning behind the choice. I feel nonchalantly defiant towards said tsk-ing. The things I am able to achieve at night, when all is quiet and no one is pestering me to fulfil certain obligations, are incredibly important. With unbroken concentration, I can achieve far more in the hours past midnight than I’ve ever been able to when my eyes are stinging from being exposed to (un)natural light. My pursuits may be of a leisurely nature, at least according to some, but I most certainly approach them with fervent dedication, and can not rest until all goals have been ticked off the list.

So, on that note, I find myself with the compulsion to make the following declaration (after spending many nights perusing the freely available emoticons on line – particularly of the ninja variety): I have found the coolest smiley in existence.  Not only that, I’m going to post it here – prepare yourself for impending awesomeness….

.

Super Cool Cat

 

I believe my work here is just about done, particularly considering I’ve now wasted sufficient time to make it late enough to play Resident Evil 5 with the appropriate amount of atmosphere.
cheesy

S4E

About Satellite for Entropy

My thoughts are fish, all swimming about and prone to scattering swiftly. Some of them are pretty but not all of them are gold. Some have teeth; some travel in gangs and with a single school of thought; some are haphazard loners, darting about the place randomly and to no obvious purpose. But they're all slippery little suckers. Sometimes, I get lucky and find myself with a good grasp on one, long enough to remember what it looks like before releasing it back into the wild. View all posts by Satellite for Entropy

Leave a Reply

