By The Light of the Silvery Moon

More Musical Lunacy
(and I’m not apologising for the pun)

Having recently compiled the quick Bird Songs list, I had a bit of a think about other common themes prevalent in the songs in my library. (I daresay that the most of them are common to most people’s collections). For this list I chose the moon . While an obvious, perhaps cliche, choice, songs that refer to the moon count as some of my all-time favourites.

The moon itself has some very real and intriguing ‘magic’, of which I’m sure the majority of people are aware, so I won’t go into that – I’ll just head on in to the list of top 5 moon songs I have in my library.

Moonlight Drive – The Doors
One of the best songs ever to celebrate the night. The music is lilting and a little playful, the lyrics are almost the same, belying the seedier undercurrent that lurks in the darkness.

Favourite lyrics:
Penetrate the evening
That the city sleeps to hide

The Moon – Glen Hansard & Marketa Irglova
Quite simply, everything about this song is majestic – delicate and hauntingly beautiful lyrically, vocally and musically. Doesn’t get much better than that!

Favourite lyrics:
Shut the door to the moon
And let the birds gather
Play no more with the fool
And let the souls wander

To Pluto’s Moon – My Brightest Diamond
Another incredibly affecting song. The lyrics kind of catch you unaware – you find yourself listening to them all of a sudden and realising their gravity, and the music is absolutely mesmerising. (Ok, so it’s not referring to earth’s moon, but it’s a moon just the same).

Favourite lyrics:
Why did you go like this
I slam against the wall of permanence
(just to add, that line nails the moment you’ve realised something is gone forever so sharply and succinctly).

Drawing Down the Moon – The Tea Party
To this day, even years after they disbanded, and many more since I first heard this song, The Tea Party remain one of my favourite bands. They never really got the recognition they deserved for producing some of the best music of the 90’s, though I’ve probably listened to this song enough for about 100 people.

Favourite lyrics:
She’s drawing down the moon
I can see it in her eyes

Moondance – Van Morrison
Sometimes I’m surprised that I like this song so much, then I listen to it and wonder how I could ever consider not liking it – it’s just not possible. A  lovely song that always puts me in a good mood.

Favourite lyrics:
And all the night’s magic seems to whisper and hush
And all the soft moonlight seems to shine in your blush

And because I’m a bit ♥ about this song right now:

S4E

About Satellite for Entropy

My thoughts are fish, all swimming about and prone to scattering swiftly. Some of them are pretty but not all of them are gold. Some have teeth; some travel in gangs and with a single school of thought; some are haphazard loners, darting about the place randomly and to no obvious purpose. But they're all slippery little suckers. Sometimes, I get lucky and find myself with a good grasp on one, long enough to remember what it looks like before releasing it back into the wild. View all posts by Satellite for Entropy

Leave a Reply

