It Was All About the Majesty…

Oh, and birds. Possibly even music…and a band named Shearwater

The album cover for Winged Life - quite pleased I received this version as Im a little less fond of the blue cover (shown below)

Well… After a couple of months of waiting my copy of Winged Life by Shearwater finally arrived today. (It was, in fact, the second copy that I had to buy, and actually arrived quite quickly, but I waited five weeks for the first one. Thankfully my money for the original purchase was refunded, and due to a stronger Aussie dollar the second purchase worked out to be significantly cheaper – which was nice).

Anyway, the point… if I have one… I guess I should mention that I came at Shearwater a little backwards. I bought Rook first, though I had been predominantly listening to tracks from Palo Santo, purely because it was the only album of theirs available in Australia. Rook pretty much made me go ok, now I have to get every other song this band has recorded… Which is pretty much what I do whenever I listen to something that is immediately affecting (it can take me a while – my post about Pillars and Tongues was several months ago, and I only just last week received my copy of the album Protection… but I do always get there in the end XD). Plus there’s the thing I have for birds and music with bird themes…so I guess Shearwater get double – perhaps even triple – bonus points for that; so says a ninja-owl, anyways. 😉

But back to the point. Which I can’t remember. Right, so I bought the expanded edition of Palo Santo after that, then the original version. I’m actually really glad I bought the expanded edition first, it’s quite easy to hear why they wanted to re-record the songs. Not that the original version is terrible to listen to by comparison, but the expanded edition takes what was a good album and clearly re-defines it, making it a great album.

So, on to Winged Life… I’m towards the end of my second listen, which means I’m still getting to know the album – but, wow. Really. For the most part it’s considerably more delicate than Rook, musically if not lyrically, and that’s pretty much what I love about it. Shearwater have a style and sound which I have always descibed as majestic, and sometimes majesty is beautifully gentle yet no less powerful. (That there would be the point, I guess…)

Yay for me and my ears. 😀

S4E

About Satellite for Entropy

My thoughts are fish, all swimming about and prone to scattering swiftly. Some of them are pretty but not all of them are gold. Some have teeth; some travel in gangs and with a single school of thought; some are haphazard loners, darting about the place randomly and to no obvious purpose. But they're all slippery little suckers. Sometimes, I get lucky and find myself with a good grasp on one, long enough to remember what it looks like before releasing it back into the wild. View all posts by Satellite for Entropy

Leave a Reply

