Three Birds – One Stone

NB: Birds are awesome. Stones are pretty cool, too. Stoned birds, however, are not. But I like the analogy better than the “seven flies” one, and I’m hoping I can think of a clever joke about stoned birds to edit in later.

I’ve been rather haphazardly attending to this blog over the last year and a bit. It’s small, sporadic and focused quite neatly on my personal obsessions. I think it suits.

That being said, you only have to take a brief look over at my tag cloud to see what the recurring theme here has been. I love pretty much everything about music, except for the fact that I can’t write it and I can’t make Fergie / Britney Spears / Justin Bieber go away. Lacking those skills, I’ve obviously turned to the one talent I think I can lay claim to – writing. The choice, or rather the urge, to write posts about music, comes with the rather specific intension of letting others know about some of the truly great artists I’ve come across – whether they have only a few dedicated fans or hundreds of thousands. As someone who regularly indulges in introspection (also alliteration), it allows a modicum of self-discovery/awareness by virtue of thinking about why certain things appeal to me.

That being said, I’m rather pleased that I was recently given the opportunity to write about music in a slightly different capacity. Specifically, writing a reveiw with the possibility of publication via an online magazine. On the surface, that’s not much different to what I’m already doing. Once I took my hand to it, however, some glaring differences soon became evident – the most significant being that I was listening to write, not writing because I listened. That and the sometimes acute awareness that this time, someone else had to approve of the contents and click the “publish” button. Here I should note that self-approval is nice, but that kind of nod of approval is equally satisfying to receive. One that I’m grateful for, in fact – in terms of being given the opportunity, that I had the capacity to accept it, and that it ultimately resulted in my efforts being published. This, then, marks the first time in a number of years that I have not self-published something I’ve written.

Which is nice.

So, what’s the three birds – one stone reference? Well, now I get to:

a) Brag about it
b) Link to – and advertise – a very cool music magazine (not to mention a dedicated forum catering to music enthusiasts)
c) Bring attention to Phosphorescent’s upcoming release (Here’s To Taking It Easy), because it deserves some.

In no particular order of importance, of course. 😉

So there you have it, and here it be: [sic] Magazine – Phosphorescent review

S4E

About Satellite for Entropy

My thoughts are fish, all swimming about and prone to scattering swiftly. Some of them are pretty but not all of them are gold. Some have teeth; some travel in gangs and with a single school of thought; some are haphazard loners, darting about the place randomly and to no obvious purpose. But they're all slippery little suckers. Sometimes, I get lucky and find myself with a good grasp on one, long enough to remember what it looks like before releasing it back into the wild. View all posts by Satellite for Entropy

Leave a Reply

