4 Somewhat Random Musical Facts I Realised This Week

1

Even if by some miracle I’m able to maintain my current average daily playcount, it will take me another twenty years of listening to hit one million plays on Last.fm. I doubt I’ll have that much time.

2

Buffy the Vampire Slayer had the best theme song. There were two versions used over the course of the show – the original by Nerf Herder and a version by The Breeders. Of the two, I prefer the Breeders version, but I swear I had a mad live version in my library by Nerf Herder which trumps them both. I have no idea where I got it from or where it’s gone – I can’t even find a reference to it online. Anyway, here’s a very cool piano version.

There’s also a really nice classical-style version, played by ear no less.

3

CocoRosie’s Daytrotter session is really quite good – worth the hassle to grab via the rather annoying download manager.

4

I have 27 songs in my library with bird in the title, 10 with the word snake (though, to be fair, exactly half of them are different versions of Jeff Martin‘s/The Armada‘s Black Snake Blues), 3 songs each for cat, rat and pig, 8 with dog, 1 with squid and 4 with elephant. This means absolutely nothing, but I’ll use it as an excuse to post the aforementioned Black Snake Blues.

S4E

About Satellite for Entropy

My thoughts are fish, all swimming about and prone to scattering swiftly. Some of them are pretty but not all of them are gold. Some have teeth; some travel in gangs and with a single school of thought; some are haphazard loners, darting about the place randomly and to no obvious purpose. But they're all slippery little suckers. Sometimes, I get lucky and find myself with a good grasp on one, long enough to remember what it looks like before releasing it back into the wild. View all posts by Satellite for Entropy

Leave a Reply

