[sic] Magazine Writer Top Tens

For those who may have an interest, I recently contributed my list of Top 10 Albums of 2010 to [sic] Magazine, along with several other members of the team. If you’ve read the Favourite Albums list that I compiled for S4E, it is essentially the same, with a couple of subtle differences and one glaring alteration.

The first difference is that I applied rankings to the albums. This wasn’t exactly necessary and quite a different tack to simply putting them in alphabetical order as I did here, but I did so for a couple of reasons.

Primarily, I just wanted to see if I could. It is something I have always resisted applying to previous lists, and I maintain that it can be a counter-productive thing to do in some circumstances (hence why I chose not to use a ranking system for my personal favourites here), but I also see a certain value in the challenge (by which I mean the conversations I had with myself, during which the justifications  and rationale for having a certain album ranked at a certain position were fairly interesting – to me, anyway).

That being said, while the order of the list isn’t exactly arbitray, I didn’t agonise over what to put where, either. Some of the decisions were a little tougher than others, granted, but there is no significant importance behind the how’s and why’s something was placed – more specifically, I do not think any less of the album placed at #10 than I do the album at #1 – they are, after all, my top 10 out of everything I listened to this year.

And, of course, the biggest difference is the exclusion of Dark Night of the Soul by Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse. Obviously, the primary reason I did that was so that I could include the album by Murmuüre. I chose DNotS specifically to leave out for two key reasons – It technically, though not officially, was released last year, and because it was the subject of debate when I was deciding which ten albums to feature in my original list.

I wanted to include the album by Murmuure purely because it’s amazing and would have made it into the S4E list anyway if I had only heard it a couple of weeks earlier than I did.

So that’s that.

S4E

About Satellite for Entropy

My thoughts are fish, all swimming about and prone to scattering swiftly. Some of them are pretty but not all of them are gold. Some have teeth; some travel in gangs and with a single school of thought; some are haphazard loners, darting about the place randomly and to no obvious purpose. But they're all slippery little suckers. Sometimes, I get lucky and find myself with a good grasp on one, long enough to remember what it looks like before releasing it back into the wild. View all posts by Satellite for Entropy

Leave a Reply

