Mixtape, Moving Pictures & Maw

Depending on your time zone, this would either go in yesterday’s post, or you’d have to wait a whole month to hear about it (here). Since I heard about it this morning, and I didn’t want to tack it on to yesterday’s post, I figured everyone else should know about it now, too.

The label Skrot Up, whom it should be well known I have a certain fondness for, have just released a mixtape featuring 16 of the label’s artists. The mixtape is available to download in MP3 format, either as individual files or two extended MP3s, to give you that cassette experience. You can download it over at Redefine Magazine, and – as they say – it “should serve as a great introduction to a label that is constantly releasing artful, challenging electronic, experimental, and psychedelic lo-fi music“. Indeed.

The tracklisting is as follows:

  1. Tongue And Teeth – “Just Dogs”
  2. The Secret Society Of The Sonic Six – “Bump Sonically Speaking”
  3. Balaclavas – “Sick Pants”
  4. Rape Faction – “White Boy Uptown”
  5. Grem – “Closer”
  6. Kid Romance – “Not Your Persona”
  7. Florene – “Capital”
  8. Grave Babies – “Ghost”
  9. High Marks – “Revenge”
  10. Dharma – “Dark Magicks”
  11. Wicked Crafts – “Thought Of A Present”
  12. After After After – “Radiation”
  13. The Darkest Love – “Your Turn”
  14. Chevalier Avant Garde – “Loss”
  15. Puberty – “By A Car”
  16. Passion Party – “Untitled”
In other News…

While I’m here, I may as well let my fellow Her Name is Calla fans know about a couple of things, if they didn’t already. First, the unfortunately failed attempt at a live, acoustic loungeroom session has resulted in the recording of a few tracks currently available to watch on YouTube. (I am convinced that if I hadn’t gotten up at 4:30am to watch it, it would have gone on without a hitch – nearly every time I tried to get rid of the ads onscreen, the feed cut out simultaneously ­čś« ). Anyway, you can watch Tom and Sophie perform lovely versions of With Eyes So Full of Sparks of Love, The Long Distance Runner (the hidden track at the end of The Heritage) and Kate Bush‘s Running Up That Hill.

From today, they’re also previewing the tracks from the upcoming 10″ release, Maw. Over the next three Mondays, each track will be up on SoundCloud for 24 hours. You can see the artwork for it, too.

Today it’s the title track, Maw. Check it out here.




About Satellite for Entropy

My thoughts are fish, all swimming about and prone to scattering swiftly. Some of them are pretty but not all of them are gold. Some have teeth; some travel in gangs and with a single school of thought; some are haphazard loners, darting about the place randomly and to no obvious purpose. But they're all slippery little suckers. Sometimes, I get lucky and find myself with a good grasp on one, long enough to remember what it looks like before releasing it back into the wild. View all posts by Satellite for Entropy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: