30 Day Music Challenge: Day 9 – A Song I Can Dance To

Hexstatic – Kids Can Dance

This depends on the kind of dance we’re talking about…plus I think use of the word can (as in am able to – which also implies a certain level of skill, or at least competency) in that sentence makes things slightly ambiguous. In all practicality, I can dance to every song out there – will/should/do I?

No.

I can’t dance with any degree of rhythm, or ‘flow’. When I was younger, alcohol sometimes made me believe I could, but I really can’t. Here’s something utterly boring and domestic for you, though – when I’m in a really good mood, I kinda like doing housework. In such circumstances, I also like listening to upbeat music with a groovy, funky, happy vibe. Which, every now and then, has the inadvertant side effect of making me do something that vaguely resembles dancing. This is one of those songs – I dig it because the bass line reminds me of an old (and highly funky) video game callled Toe Jam and Earl.

 

S4E

About Satellite for Entropy

My thoughts are fish, all swimming about and prone to scattering swiftly. Some of them are pretty but not all of them are gold. Some have teeth; some travel in gangs and with a single school of thought; some are haphazard loners, darting about the place randomly and to no obvious purpose. But they're all slippery little suckers. Sometimes, I get lucky and find myself with a good grasp on one, long enough to remember what it looks like before releasing it back into the wild. View all posts by Satellite for Entropy

Leave a comment