30 Day Music Challenge: Day 12 – A Song From A Band I Hate

Ronan Keating – When You Say Nothing At All

I’m not really sure if there really are any bands I hate, as such, though there are many I’d much prefer not to listen to at all. More for personal reasons than the fact that I truly hate his music, I’ve gone with a track by Ronan Keating.

Let me first say, though, that the guy is a frequent visitor to Australia, and as a consequence often appears on Oz TV. He seems to be a nice, personable guy with a great sense of humour, so I have nothing against the him… Just his music.

Unfortunately, I find it dreary, sappy and cliched, which in my book is the opposite of the emotional romanticism the songs seem to try and convey. You’re welcome to vehemently argue with my point of view, of course, considering what I do find to be romantic lyrics. On top of that, it doesn’t really do much to help image-wise when his CDs are advertised as ‘The Perfect Mother’s Day Gift’. If I was Ronan Keating, I’d be a bit insulted that my music was deemed just as exciting to women as terry towelling bathrobes, gardening accessories and kitchen appliances.

It also doesn’t help that one of my exes thought he was the greatest singer in the world. The first time a Ronan CD was spotted in amongst his possessions (not by me, I just heard the story), even he was too embarassed to admit to the other guy that he had it because he loved it. Nope, his reason was that “the chicks” like it and it makes them think he’s a sensitive guy.

This guy – the ex – just didn’t ‘get’ music. Not because he loves Ronan Keating, but because he couldn’t accept that I didn’t. He was honestly convinced that if he said ‘Ronan Keating is a genius, and a masterful singer-songwriter‘ enough times, eventually I’d understand that he was right. We would also have frequent conversations that invariably went like this:

Him: “You like Celine Dion, right?”
Me: “Umm, no… I’ve told you before that I don’t.”
Him: “Why not? She’s a female singer and you like Tori Amos, so you must like Celine Dion.”
Me: “…..”¹

Occasionally the singer was Mariah Carey, Christina Aguilera and once even Shakira.

Just one of the many reasons he’s an ex.

 

S4E

1. Saying nothing at all does not necessarily mean what Ronan Keating thinks it means.

About Satellite for Entropy

My thoughts are fish, all swimming about and prone to scattering swiftly. Some of them are pretty but not all of them are gold. Some have teeth; some travel in gangs and with a single school of thought; some are haphazard loners, darting about the place randomly and to no obvious purpose. But they're all slippery little suckers. Sometimes, I get lucky and find myself with a good grasp on one, long enough to remember what it looks like before releasing it back into the wild. View all posts by Satellite for Entropy

2 responses to “30 Day Music Challenge: Day 12 – A Song From A Band I Hate

  • dangerousmeredith

    Re Ronan: this is what I think of as beige music. I used to have a boyfriend who not only listen to, but compose and SING, beige music. Every evening he would bring out his guitar, strike a soulful attitude and ask me which of his songs I wanted to hear. Truth was I didn’t want to hear any. It was torture. We lasted about 3 months.

  • Satellite for Entropy

    Heh, and what lady does not wish to be serenaded on a nightly basis XD . I was lucky in a way – the ex I mentioned insisted he had a great singing voice that was praised all through growing up, yet he refused to demonstrate. I did hear him singing along to Ronan once, and when I politely informed him that he most certainly did not have a great singing voice, he tried to convince me that he doesn’t use “that” voice for casual singing….because he’s too embarassed to be heard singing with a good voice. Yeah, that makes sense.

Leave a Reply

