30 Day Music Challenge: Day 15 – A Song That Describes Me

Tori Amos – Liquid Diamonds


“I guess I’m an underwater thing so I guess I can’t take it personally”

I promised myself I wouldn’t repeat artists but I really had to make an exception for this. I’m almost certain no one has ever written a song about me, and while there are thousands out there that I identify with on one level or another, very rarely do I think ‘yup, that’s me described to a T’.

But there’s a reason I’ve been a fan of Tori’s work for nearly 20 years. There’s a reason I collect her music obsessively, and still listen to her entire discography profusely. If I ever gain the capacity to put it into words without sounding like a loon, I’ll do so… Let’s just say, for now, she has an uncanny knack for chronicling the things I know well – for most of the categories in this challenge, the first song I thought of was one of hers.

It always seems slightly on the side of conceited to take a song that – in reality – has nothing to do with me and say it describes me; particularly when it’s a song I love as much as this one. It feels somewhat akin to putting up a picture of some gorgeous model on my Facebook profile or something. But then again, from when I first heard this song back in 1996 to when I hear it today, I always think…

I live here.

 

S4E

PS I quite like this clip, too, which is a fan made vid using bits n’ pieces of various other Tori videos.

About Satellite for Entropy

My thoughts are fish, all swimming about and prone to scattering swiftly. Some of them are pretty but not all of them are gold. Some have teeth; some travel in gangs and with a single school of thought; some are haphazard loners, darting about the place randomly and to no obvious purpose. But they're all slippery little suckers. Sometimes, I get lucky and find myself with a good grasp on one, long enough to remember what it looks like before releasing it back into the wild. View all posts by Satellite for Entropy

Leave a Reply

