30 Day Music Challenge: Day 26 – A Song I Can Play On An Instrument

The harmonica is the only instrument I ever took lessons for. Pity I was young, dumb, and not paying enough attention. I can do the wailing whistle thing, and I can do the chug… Does it sound anywhere near as good as this guy?

The answer to that is a simple hell no. I used to walk around when I was 15 playing that little riff and thinking I was awesome. I wasn’t – I sucked and blowed in both senses of the words.

Anyway, that’s that. I can (half) play this song. Woot.

Oh, and when I was 14 I was staying with a friend who had a keyboard. I can play the keyboard a little, and I can kinda read music. I have to translate the notes – section by section – then learn them by heart, then practice long enough on the keyboard to play the song fluently. She had some sheet music, so I wound up spending a weekend teaching myself to play Right Here Waiting by Richard Marx. That was time well spent.

I can also play Greensleeves on the recorder and various nursery rhymes on either that or a keyboard. I’m all about diversity.

 

S4E

About Satellite for Entropy

My thoughts are fish, all swimming about and prone to scattering swiftly. Some of them are pretty but not all of them are gold. Some have teeth; some travel in gangs and with a single school of thought; some are haphazard loners, darting about the place randomly and to no obvious purpose. But they're all slippery little suckers. Sometimes, I get lucky and find myself with a good grasp on one, long enough to remember what it looks like before releasing it back into the wild. View all posts by Satellite for Entropy

Leave a Reply

