Wanted: Rooftop Shouters – Must Have Own Passion

Most regular readers would be aware by now that I also write for the independent music site [sic] Magazine. It’s important to me here at S4E that I have the freedom to talk about what I want, when I want, and my purpose is not quite to tell the world what I think, what’s good or what isn’t, why someone else should or shouldn’t like something… What drives me, and every thought behind what I post, is the hope that I’m able forge connections to music, either specifically or in general, by showing people how I connect to it.

I write for [sic] because they allow me to do much the same thing.

It’s like being able to shout from two different rooftops at once – an action that can be a cathartic thing, but as those who also shout are probably aware, as much as doing so might get people to stop and stare, the greater purpose is to ensure that they listen, that the message is heard as far and wide as possible. Over time I have received some wonderful and deeply appreciated compliments for the way I write about music, both here and at [sic]; what I love (if just a smidgeon ;)) more, is finding out someone else discovered something new that they love just as much as I do after reading something I’ve written.

That’s also why I gravitate towards writers and blogs that talk more about how an album or song has affected the writer as opposed to adopting detached objectivity and trying to tell the reader why they may or may not like it; which is always harder for me to relate to when I’m reading about a release I haven’t even heard – they don’t know me, and I don’t know what they’re talking about.

So, why am I telling you all this? Because I want to see a site like [sic], which favours truth, passion and individuality both in music and its writers, thrive and grow. As an independent site, [sic] aims to give an extra voice to those that sometimes struggle to find them. There is room to spare on this rooftop, and the more voices we have the better.

If you have a similar passion for music, if you can’t shut up about your latest discovery until all your friends, family, co-workers and strangers on a bus know about them too, and think you can translate this into the written word, consider taking a platform where even more people will be able to hear you and the music you love.

For more information about [sic] Magazine, as well as contact information if you are interested in writing for them, just click here.

 

S4E

About Satellite for Entropy

My thoughts are fish, all swimming about and prone to scattering swiftly. Some of them are pretty but not all of them are gold. Some have teeth; some travel in gangs and with a single school of thought; some are haphazard loners, darting about the place randomly and to no obvious purpose. But they're all slippery little suckers. Sometimes, I get lucky and find myself with a good grasp on one, long enough to remember what it looks like before releasing it back into the wild. View all posts by Satellite for Entropy

Leave a Reply

