30 Day Music Challenge: Day 27 – A Song I Wish I Could Play

My Brightest Diamond – Hi, Remember Me?

“I hit the wall so hard that I had to talk to Jesus”

Shara Worden is, in a word, brilliant. I love quite a number of My Brightest Diamond songs, but this one really does make me want to go get a keyboard and sit there for hours, probably days, maybe even months, until I’ve perfected it enough to play and sing it at the same time.

I love the sombre moodiness of it, and the way she says “shifty”. Once I have that keyboard, I wanna get me some smoky, subtly accusing eyes, a dark room with a yellow, flickering bulb as a spotlight, and a half-decent voice, then sing this song to myself.

This appeared on a various artist album called Cross-Pollination: The Mixtape Vol. 1, but you can download this track for free via Stereogum.

About Satellite for Entropy

My thoughts are fish, all swimming about and prone to scattering swiftly. Some of them are pretty but not all of them are gold. Some have teeth; some travel in gangs and with a single school of thought; some are haphazard loners, darting about the place randomly and to no obvious purpose. But they're all slippery little suckers. Sometimes, I get lucky and find myself with a good grasp on one, long enough to remember what it looks like before releasing it back into the wild. View all posts by Satellite for Entropy

2 responses to “30 Day Music Challenge: Day 27 – A Song I Wish I Could Play

Leave a Reply

