Quick Catch-Up – New Releases for May

I’ve got a couple of things I want to catch everyone up on, and I’m going to have to do it in a ridiculously cheap n’ nasty, fly-by fashion; which will not really afford the due respect the following deserve, but I’m almost certain that if I could see my own brain right now, it would look like an eroded little pebble (lots of long stories, all involving various members of my current ‘household’. I’m the one that sits there smiling politely and agreeing with the tirades about all the injustices in the world as they’re yelled at me, then taking my cue to yawn and go “sorry, I have to get up early in the morning” when some dude I barely even know thinks combining this look:    with blasting this song on repeat in my general direction, will be effective. It’s not).

Giles Corey

Anyone who read all the way through last year’s Book of Favourite Things will know that this is one of the releases I was keeping a keen eye out for in 2011. The pre-orders went up a couple of days ago, and while I don’t know how many units were initially made available, at first glance there were 260, now there’s 170~odd, so the opportunity to claim a copy is fast disappearing. Seriously, go check this out. Then buy a copy.

Sleepingdog

The first I heard of Sleepingdog was the gorgeous track Your Eyes on a Gizeh Sampler back in 2009. Great to hear that a new album – With Our Heads In The Clouds and Our Hearts In the Fields – has just been released, and it’s assuredly another one to add to your list. There’s a particularly lovely review over on TheSteinbergPrinciple, so I’m going to direct you there to read more about this album. You can also stream tracks here.

Two very different albums, and both worth much more attention than I just gave them, so make up for it on my behalf by giving them yours.

S4E

About Satellite for Entropy

My thoughts are fish, all swimming about and prone to scattering swiftly. Some of them are pretty but not all of them are gold. Some have teeth; some travel in gangs and with a single school of thought; some are haphazard loners, darting about the place randomly and to no obvious purpose. But they're all slippery little suckers. Sometimes, I get lucky and find myself with a good grasp on one, long enough to remember what it looks like before releasing it back into the wild. View all posts by Satellite for Entropy

Leave a Reply

