Conversations With My “Stalker”

I’ve mentioned here before that I recently had to move. As it turns out, it was just in time, because I’ve recently acquired my very own nuisance caller – someone I met a few times (through a friend) and who had visited my old address on a couple of occasions (neither of them know my new address).

In general, I’d question the intelligence of anyone who thinks it’s a grand idea to phone a relative stranger dozens of times a day, but you really have to marvel – and then make fun of – the thought process that resulted in the following conversation taking place with them. (I’m trying to maintain some sort of dignified image here, so I’ve removed all instances of my swearing at them, and slightly altered how I answered the phone… Also, I don’t sit on my couch like that. Everything else is, unfortunately, an accurate account of the conversation).

Obviously this person is disturbed and needs help. I hope they get it. In the meantime, I maintain the right to find the humour in the situation.

S4E

About Satellite for Entropy

My thoughts are fish, all swimming about and prone to scattering swiftly. Some of them are pretty but not all of them are gold. Some have teeth; some travel in gangs and with a single school of thought; some are haphazard loners, darting about the place randomly and to no obvious purpose. But they're all slippery little suckers. Sometimes, I get lucky and find myself with a good grasp on one, long enough to remember what it looks like before releasing it back into the wild. View all posts by Satellite for Entropy

5 responses to “Conversations With My “Stalker”

  • dangerousmeredith

    If you can find humour in this situation then you are a better man than I, Gunga Din. I would be scared shitless. Thank God you moved and thank God this person doesn’t know where you live now. Why do they want to kill you? Any idea?

    • Satellite for Entropy

      Well, at this point everything they are doing is in the mildly annoying category more than anything else. (The last week they’ve decided to pose as me on an online dating site in the “intimate encounters” category, thus I’ve had a constant stream of said dating site members calling, texting and sending me images – of the X-rated kind. The worst thing about that is that the site itself refuses to take any responsibility or act on my complaints).

      As to whether I know their reasons for doing this, I can answer yes *and* no to that. No, because I actually haven’t done a thing against this person, at all. Yes because what’s prompted is that she knocked on my [old] door a few times looking for a mutual friend, and I spent maybe 5 minutes explaining to her that I have nothing to do with this other person, nor do I ever want to. The problem is, this other person now refuses to have anything to do with her, and somehow that’s become my fault/problem.

      So, I don’t actually know her, and she doesn’t know me, but it appears I’m the one she’s decided to fixate on.

      • dangerousmeredith

        This person sounds to be absolutely cracked! Quite unhinged. I would be more than slightly annoyed over the online dating thing – that’s sexual harrassment. The bloody website should act on your complaints. Is there an ombudsman you can take this too? Sorry – I’m being bossy and interfering aren’t I? But this is just plain wrong. You moved because of this person, and now your privacy is being interfered with in a serious way. That is genuine stalking. It makes me angry just to hear about it.

  • Satellite for Entropy

    I’m right there with you, believe me! I was absolutely livid with the one response I ended up getting from the site (basically telling me they run a free for all and in order to do that they can’t/won’t verify anyone’s details). I’m pretty sure the profile was finally shut down yesterday, as I haven’t had a call for a while. If so, it would be because everyone I spoke to or messaged back to explain the situation, I asked to report the profile for inappropriate behaviour – this took 6 days!

    Most of the callers were fairly understanding once they were aware of the situation though. Some were just embarassed and so forth (got a few “well I’m actually looking for a long-term relationship, but I just happened to stumble on that profile and it appealed to me” – save it, lol), some were annoyed, about 75% asked me if I was single anyway, a very select few were shocked and annoyed on my behalf instead of their own (bless ’em), and then there were a few that didn’t believe me. I actually found myself defending my reputation to a complete stranger (from whom I had moments before received a pxt I won’t describe). o_O

    I’d be lying if I said it didn’t get to me at all, but I can’t let it get to me too much otherwise she achieves exactly what she set out to. (The calls started right after I’d had enough of auto rejecting her calls and said a few choice words to her – guess I struck a nerve or something).

    I have her full details anyway (including name and address), so a formal complaint to the police for harassment is definitely in the works, hopefully I can get an AVO, too – just in case.

Leave a Reply

