Tag Archives: acoustic

T E Morris – An Ocean Is Enough To Love

It’s been about a whole five minutes since I’ve mentioned something to do with Her Name Is Calla, so I was sitting here thinking something wasn’t quite right…

Just for anyone out there who hasn’t caught this yet, An Ocean is Enought to Love is the new EP from Calla member Tom Morris (under the moniker T E Morris), with five acoustic tracks, including the lovely duet (with daughter Edie), Thumper.

I haven’t read any reviews for this, nor am I going to write one – I just listened. And, as always, so should you. 😉

You can purchase one of 300 CD copies here (availability is starting to look a little on the low side), or download a digital copy from Bandcamp (dates for the imminent solo tour are also up on the Bandcamp page).



Jonathan Meiburg – Why I Love My Home

(Songs for Charles Burchfield)

This is a fairly appropriate post for today, as, in other news, I have (finally!) acquired a new home and will be going through the whole moving process again over the next week, which – as much as I hate moving – is more of a relief than I can possibly convey.

That aside, I spotted this release on Bandcamp last week, and considering the various other Meiburg-associated releases – Buteo Buteo, The Golden Archipelago (Shearwater) and the s/t Blue Water White Death albums from last year – were all amongst my favourite albums of 2010, I couldn’t resist the lure of these two tracks.

Charles Burchfield, just for those who haven’t heard the name before (myself included, but I’ve been doing a little research), was an American artist born in 1893 (d. 1967). I didn’t know that I was already familiar with a few of his pieces prior to looking them up recently, so I have to say I love that music can lead to these other discoveries because the work I recognised have been pieces I’ve happened upon over time and thought were just beautiful. There’s been many more, though, that I haven’t seen before at all, and I’m truly enamoured with quite a number of them. Here is just one example of the wonderful art Charles Burchfield produced:

The following is an excerpt of the words on Bandcamp by Jonathan Meiburg in regards to the songs on this release:

I was invited to perform at the opening of the Whitney Museum’s exhibit “Heat Waves in a Swamp: The Paintings of Charles Burchfield” last year. I’d never heard of Burchfield before, but loved the whimsy, darkness, and grandeur of his giant watercolors, and wrote this pair of songs as an attempt to evoke some of his paintings in sound, since Burchfield often tried to depict sounds in his paintings. 

Whimsy, darkness and grandeur are all things Jonathan Meiburg and co. seem to have a strong command on, and the result is something that actually feels a little at the mid-point of Shearwater and Blue Water White Death. The second track – The Moth and The Milky Way – reminding me occasionally of Song For The Greater Jihad, the lead single from Blue Water White Death. Each song is based on specific paintings, though, with the first track – Hymn To The Valences – based on Two Ravines and The Song of The Telegraph, while the second is based on The Sphinx and The Milky Way (pictured).

Meanwhile, Shearwater recently performed a 3-hour concert featuring tracks from The Island Arc (i.e. the albums Palo Santo, Rook and The Golden Archipelago). Now there’s a performance I would have done just about anything to attend, had it been within the realm of possibility. Ten tracks from that performance have been made available on Bandcamp as well, and while I haven’t grabbed them yet, I certainly will be soon.

Both releases are available via the same Bandcamp profile, but you can click here for Why I Love My Home, or click here for The Island Arc Live.


Mixtape, Moving Pictures & Maw

Depending on your time zone, this would either go in yesterday’s post, or you’d have to wait a whole month to hear about it (here). Since I heard about it this morning, and I didn’t want to tack it on to yesterday’s post, I figured everyone else should know about it now, too.

The label Skrot Up, whom it should be well known I have a certain fondness for, have just released a mixtape featuring 16 of the label’s artists. The mixtape is available to download in MP3 format, either as individual files or two extended MP3s, to give you that cassette experience. You can download it over at Redefine Magazine, and – as they say – it “should serve as a great introduction to a label that is constantly releasing artful, challenging electronic, experimental, and psychedelic lo-fi music“. Indeed.

The tracklisting is as follows:

  1. Tongue And Teeth – “Just Dogs”
  2. The Secret Society Of The Sonic Six – “Bump Sonically Speaking”
  3. Balaclavas – “Sick Pants”
  4. Rape Faction – “White Boy Uptown”
  5. Grem – “Closer”
  6. Kid Romance – “Not Your Persona”
  7. Florene – “Capital”
  8. Grave Babies – “Ghost”
  9. High Marks – “Revenge”
  10. Dharma – “Dark Magicks”
  11. Wicked Crafts – “Thought Of A Present”
  12. After After After – “Radiation”
  13. The Darkest Love – “Your Turn”
  14. Chevalier Avant Garde – “Loss”
  15. Puberty – “By A Car”
  16. Passion Party – “Untitled”
In other News…

While I’m here, I may as well let my fellow Her Name is Calla fans know about a couple of things, if they didn’t already. First, the unfortunately failed attempt at a live, acoustic loungeroom session has resulted in the recording of a few tracks currently available to watch on YouTube. (I am convinced that if I hadn’t gotten up at 4:30am to watch it, it would have gone on without a hitch – nearly every time I tried to get rid of the ads onscreen, the feed cut out simultaneously 😮 ). Anyway, you can watch Tom and Sophie perform lovely versions of With Eyes So Full of Sparks of Love, The Long Distance Runner (the hidden track at the end of The Heritage) and Kate Bush‘s Running Up That Hill.

From today, they’re also previewing the tracks from the upcoming 10″ release, Maw. Over the next three Mondays, each track will be up on SoundCloud for 24 hours. You can see the artwork for it, too.

Today it’s the title track, Maw. Check it out here.



Rivulets – Stray Songs: 2000-2010

A quick follow up for now to this recent post, just to mention that this compilation was released yesterday. Pretty much perfect timing for me as I’ve been quite keen to explore this music in greater depth; with the collection spanning ten years I couldn’t ask for a better way to do so.

Comprised of singles, live versions, alternate takes, covers and tracks featured on various compilations, Stray Songs contains a total of 27 tracks – really quite the perfect thing for anyone looking to find out what I’m making a fuss about, as well as offering plenty for those that have known all along.

It’s a digital only, self-release, so please do yourself, the artist, and the world a favour by heading over to any of the following stores to purchase a copy; then tell everyone you know how great it is – it might just be the only way they’ll ever know.




For those interested in the tracklisting:

  1. I Told Jesus Christ How Much I Love Her
  2. Brownies
  3. Lazarus
  4. Broken Hearted Wine
  5. You’re Always Going Away
  6. Keep You From Harm
  7. Waited For You (live)
  8. Can’t I Wonder (solo)
  9. Painbirds
  10. Birds For Ellen
  11. Anymore
  12. Sung
  13. You Will Miss Me When I Burn
  14. To Be Home
  15. Waited For You (solo)
  16. Shakes (live)
  17. Holocaust (live)
  18. Blue Moon
  19. The Sunsets Can Be Beautiful (alternate)
  20. Your Light and How It Shined (micro)
  21. In Dream
  22. In An Aarctika Womb
  23. Will You Be There (demo)
  24. Medication
  25. The Sunsets Can Be Beautiful (micro)
  26. Barrelling Towards Nowhere Like There’s No Tomorrow (live)
  27. This Christmas

That’s just over 140 minutes of some purely beautiful music, and more than worth the humble price. Get into it!