Tag Archives: Denovali

Denovali Launches MP3 Store

Many will already know of a certain fondness I have for the label Denovali, which has much more to it than my HNIC favouritism. With releases from many other stellar (and highly recommended artists), including The Killimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble / Mount Fuji Doomjazz Corporation, Blueneck, Infinite Light Ltd, Birds Of Passage et al, as well as the fact that they put serious thought and care into their physical products, there’s nothing not to love about the work they do.

For those who prefer the digital format, Denovali have just launched their own MP3 store, which can be found here. Coinciding with the launch is the special release of a label sampler, containing a massive 40 tracks and running just shy of 5 hours (all MP3s at 320kbps, so keep that in mind if you have limited data usage). I may or may not have my count correct, but from a quick scan I noted around 37 different contributing artists to the compilation, so there’s been almost no stone unturned when putting this together. Check out Nordic Lake Sounds Vol. III here – priced at €10 you can’t get much better value for money. Unless it’s free.

Speaking of free (here’s the “but wait! there’s more!!” bit), along with the various albums you can purchase in MP3 format, there’s a total of 17 different releases you can get for free. There really can’t be a better way to introduce yourself to a great label, and some awesome artists, so head over to this page and check ’em out.

Oh, and while all of these are being offered for free, you can also donate an amount of your choosing (via PayPal) on each release page, which is always the best way to show your support for music you dig.

Here’s the full list of titles available for free, just in case you’re actually still here twiddling your thumbs:

  • Celeste – Misanthrope(s)
  • Celeste – Morte(s) Nee(s)
  • Celeste –  Nihiliste(s)
  • Celeste – Pessimiste(s) EP
  • Heirs – Alchera
  • Her Name Is Calla – Long Grass EP
  • Iroha & Fragment. – Bittersweet EP
  • Kidcrash & Coffin Dancer – Split
  • Kidcrash – Jokes
  • Kidcrash – Snacks
  • Kodiak – S/T
  • Lento – Icon
  • Mihai Edrisch – L’un Sans Lautre
  • Neil On Impression – Loceano Del Onde Che Restano Onde Per Sempre
  • Omega Massif – Geisterstadt + Kalt
  • Revok – Bad Books And Empty Pasts
  • Terminal Sound System – Tour EP



How Much “Maw” Do You Want?

I know I already mentioned this a while back, but I received a copy of Maw just the other day, thus completing my Her Name Is Calla collection (from The White and The Skin onwards, anyway); so to celebrate, I went Bitstripping at 2 in the morning.

That actually sounds a little nasty, but you know what I mean. I hope. If not, Bitstrips is where anyone with or without talent can produce comic strips like the one above in a mere matter of moments.

It is perhaps a travesty how easy the internet makes it to convince myself I have awesome comic powers and then foist the results on my readers, but I promise I’m trying to use said “powers” for good and not evil…mostly.

As always, the cover art for the EP is something special unto itself, and Denovali have done a great job bringing it all to life with simple, but top quality packaging.

The limited clear gold and black haze vinyl editions  (100 originally available) sold out pretty quick, but you can still get the standard black vinyl edition (200 originally available) . This won’t be re-pressed, so once it’s gone your only option will be to grab the download from the Bandcamp page. Which you can anytime, anyway.

Get the vinyl here or here.


Rivulets + Nadja + Boduf Songs = Infinite Light Ltd.

Often, when I hear about collaborations involving a favoured artist, I have to look up who the other parties are. That’s generally a good thing, of course, as it opens up a whole new sound and discography to explore. With this upcoming release by collective Infinite Light Ltd, however, I’m not only aware of each individual artist, but consider myself a fan of them all.

While surprised (and I don’t even know why, though I never would have predicted it, it somehow makes sense), I was definitely intrigued to learn Nathan Amundson (Rivulets), Aidan Baker (Nadja et al) and Mat Sweet (Boduf Songs), had teamed together for what sounds like one of the more interesting projects this year.

While musically the project seems to have resulted in an eclectic mix (folk, blues, electronica, post rock and ambient drone), each artist brings a unique form of closeness (for lack of a better word) in their other work, so I’m keen to hear how those respective intimacies will play out. Or off one another, as the case may be.

Released May 13, you can pre-order the album now, or stream three of the album’s ten tracks, over on Denovali. Having taken a quick listen,  I’m certainly looking forward to hearing the album in full.


Post Rock, Stoner Rock & Lost Rock

A Not-So-Epic Post about Epic Music

Ok, got a bit of catching up to do as it’s been about a week since I’ve had a chance to post (side note: if my next computer gives me plenty of warning signs that it’s on its last legs over the course of about six months, I think I’ll not only believe it, but I’ll also stop believing that I’m in the good graces of some mystical force that will somehow ensure my crap machinery will continue to work purely on the basis that I want it to).

Anyway, here are a bunch of things musical that I think the world should know…

Her Name is Calla‘s new album, The Quiet Lamb, is now available to pre-order from Denovali. There’s a bunch of different versions on offer, including some stunning limited editions on both CD and vinyl, not to mention some new t-shirts you can wear to let the world know how awesome your taste in music is. Definitely one of the best albums of the year. At the very least, you should go get acquainted with a couple of their previous releases, The Heritage and Long Grass EPs, which can be streamed / downloaded over at Denovali for free – just scroll down the page at the above link. (Then when you’re hooked, you can thank them for their generosity by buying The Quiet Lamb).

Speaking of great albums, Wilderness Heart, the latest album from Black Mountain, will be released in a couple of weeks. If you pre-order it now, you’ll not only get the CD or LP, but an instant download of the entire album and a poster of the cover art. I’ve played it half a dozen times already in the last couple of days, which I think is more than enough indication of how awesome it is. If you’re not yet familiar with the epic jams BM provide, you can get a sampler of tracks from all of their albums (including Wilderness Heart) via Jagjaguwar.

If that’s not enough, Mount Eerie will soon be releasing a massive double LP called Song Islands vol 2 – 31 tracks comprised of previously unreleased material and rarities, spanning 2002 – 2009. I love releases like this because they serve as excellent starting places for the uninitiated as well as giving more than enough to existing fans. Whichever category you fall into, this is well worth having. Check it out here, then figure out a way to wait patiently for it. (If you can’t, it’s available now on Amie Street). Oh, and I referred to this as ‘lost rock’ a) because it fit in with my title and the content of the album, b) because Mount Eerie is Nowhere, and c) because listening to it is like listening to a bunch of lost things being found.

Anyone that ever says it hasn’t been a great year for music just isn’t paying close enough attention to the right things. 😉